The Rule Of Thirds

Here is my entry for this months photo blogging challenge and the theme is ‘The Rule Of Thirds’.

I’ve had lots of photographic opportunities this August, so its been hard to choose my final five.  I really enjoyed doing the theme this time.

My first 3 photos are shots that I took at a live music ‘all nighter’ at a night club in Nottingham called The Maze.  It was a brilliant evening, all the bands that played were really good, we had a medley of hip-hop, folk and ska music until 4am!

If I do decide to fire my flash during a musical performance or club scene, I use a slow shutter speed to create a bit of flash blur.  Photographing this kind of scene provides the chance to be creative with your camera controls, although at times it can be a challenge, but when it works out your images will look great.

IMG_0591EDT1-HueSatwm

I composed my second image above in the rule of thirds, because I wanted to include the spot light to show the direction of the green light in the photograph.

I like the simplicity of the composition  and the blue mono tone in my third image below of the keyboard.

In my night club shots I prefer not to use my flash, so if I can, I like to use the ambient or stage lighting, as I feel that this captures more of the atmosphere in a night club scene.

IMG_0405EDT3A-sat-m

Now for my final images..the 4th and 5th images I took during a photo session I did this week for a production called “Let The stones speak”.  The performance took place in Nottingham’s Malt Cross Caves.

I like the way my subject’s face is the focal point of the image, which is contained in a very small area within the composition of the photograph.  It was dark in the caves, but I chose not to fire my flash for this shot, but used the available flood lighting instead.

IMG_3811edtwm

In my fith image below I used my pop up flash, I quite like the result as the stone represents the title of the production.

IMG_3764EDT-stone2wm

During the shoot I did get problems with harsh shadows caused by the flood lighting.  But I also managed to get some dramatic low key shots, overall I didn’t do too bad. I really enjoyed taking the photographs maybe I’ll show you the rest sometime.

8483149416_67bd5fecd2

To see more Photos using the ‘rule of thirds’ theme, or to join in, then please click visit our host PJ Harmer at  A’ Lil Hoo Haa.

10 thoughts on “The Rule Of Thirds

  1. I’ve always only used ambient lighting in my photographs, so I really appreciate reading your thoughts about when / why you choose to use flash. It’s an aspect of photography that I should probably start practicing and posts like yours help me keep that on my radar. Thanks for the sneak peek into the world of late night music and professional theatre.

    Like

    1. I’m glad you liked my images. I like seeing your world, its not often that I manage to leave the city. I have good memories of caravan holidays in North Wales near the sea. Your photography makes me realise that I really miss being countryside.

      Like

  2. I think you did a solid job with the Rule of Thirds this month. Those music shots are pretty sweet. I don’t get the chance to shoot music much, but I’d love to get into doing a big more. Nice all around this month!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave A Reply

