Summer Is Served

This is my entry for this months photo blogging challenge theme: baseball.  I’ve had to improvise with the theme this time, as there is no baseball here in the UK. There is a game called ’rounders’ which is the Irish version of base ball. Rounders is described as a game of ‘bat and ball’ and with it being the start of our tennis season in June, I chose this as as my theme.

This year I started playing tennis again, the last game I played was over twenty years ago, so my beginner group coaching sessions are suiting me just fine.  I planned my five shots to be about our soft ball tennis sessions, but seeing as our tennis coach got us all free wrist bands for the Aegon Open at the Tennis Centre in Nottingham, I thought it would be a good opportunity to have a go at sport photography and take some shots for this months photo challenge. Here are my five:

  1. On centre court Ashleigh BARTY (AUS) vs Andrea HLAVACKOVA (CZE).

IMG_6045-str-Temp12-wmL

 2. I took these shots during the last few games of the WTA singles match.  Below: Hlavackova is waiting for the ball to drop, so she can deliver her smash.

IMG_6049-Temp18-wmL

IMG_6074edited-Tem18-C19Cropwm

IMG_6080-crop2-Temp7-wmL4. At the end of the match both players shake hands. The results of the Aegon Open, head to head match, on 9th June 2016:  Ashleigh Barty vs Andrea Hlavakova 6-0, 4-6, 6-4.

 Ashleigh Barty is a returner to tennis this year. She made it through to Wimbledon as a teenager, then had time out playing professional cricket and now she is back, with her eye set on wimbledon.

Overall I think my shots worked out really well, there are always some limitations with sport photography which are out of your control.  I was sat on the 2nd tier, back row for the centre court games. I would’ve liked to have been sat closer to the net, so I could get good equal shots of both players on either side of the court. For most of the shots above, I think you’ll notice that the best angle of view for my camera lens was on my right. But,  I’m not complaining I was lucky enough to have a centre court ticket and the sunshine served us all with strawberry dream weather.

 

IMG_1741Strawberries-2-med

To see more photographs for this challenge, then please visit our host PJ Harmer at A’Lil HooHaa.com

june2016

8 thoughts on “Summer Is Served

  1. Great shots! Athletes are tough people to take pictures of, right? Always moving so quickly!
    So I wasn’t the only one for whom “Baseball” was a bit of a stretch!
    Don’t tell anyone, but for a writing challenge that is due in two weeks’ time I submitted words that the other blogger needs to use, and they all have to do with Wimbledon 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Not sure my previous comments made it, so here I go again.I am horrible at taking sports action shots. You captured the moment wonderfully. And the lighting is perfect. Thanks for sharing about Ashleigh and Wimbledon. I will look for her.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You took a key element of baseball (the ball) and used that as a smooth segue to tennis. I call that a home run! I can’t imagine how fast your shutter speed must have been to get such clear photos of the action, and a key moments in the match. Now I can’t wait to watch tennis during the Olympics!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave A Reply

