20 Days of Chill

Selfie

Day 11 of A’lil HooHaa’s 20 Days of Chill

Today’s prompt is:  Selfie Nation

I’ve always liked taking selfies, even before I got my iphone I would put my DSLR on tripod and timer, then I simply guessed what the selfie photo result would be like. Admittedly it was a lot harder to get what I wanted without the live view from mobile phones.

I often don’t like photos of myself taken by other people. I think it’s because I’m difficult to photograph. When I take photos of myself I like to be able to manipulate the lighting, angles and exposure to suit my face. I also like to have full control over how I appear in images.

I think people generally use photography to capture memories and moments with close family and friends. I do this to some extent, but this is not the main reason why I do photography or take selfies.

When I take photographs I like to express how I feel.  I like to tell a story and show the world through my lens in a conceptual way.  However I can’t and don’t do this with every photograph I take as it depends on how my images are going to be used and what purpose they’re intended for.  I also feel that sometimes my images lack the presence of a person, or that element of a human connection. I could ask friends to model for me, but I’m the only one who knows what I want to portray. Taking selfies also gives me the opportunity to experiment with self expression and to practice photographic techniques.

Lastly but not least, I enjoy taking selfies as they make me laugh.

📸 ❤️ 😄

5 thoughts on “20 Days of Chill

  1. I like self expression through photography but I don’t like having my photo taken even by myself, I’m glad you do. you have very good reasons to take selfies and I respect that.

    have a lovely day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave A Reply

