Express Yourself

This is my entry for this month’s photo blogging challenge. The theme this month is ‘Express Yourself’.

I had a good start to the new year as I attended a book launch event for an anthology of short stories which includes one of mine.

However now, my low mood from Christmas has returned,  perhaps its because of the bad weather and lack of sunlight.  I’ve got some deadlines approaching which are adding to my anxiety levels.  I think this has effected the way I’ve approached the theme for January.

Anyway, all that aside here are my five:

1. Urban Love  

I took my first image whilst I was urban exploring on a dereliction site. The reason I used this composition is because I got such a nostalgic feeling from the graffiti art placed against the background of the urban view under the large industrial pipe cutting across my photo.

img_4413-vig-sat16sharp-multi

I suppose it just says it how it is.  The yellow flowering weeds are trying to bloom through the barbed wire on the top of the wall with the tower block flats along the horizon contrasting with ‘LOVE’.  I think whoever sprayed the word ‘love’ here composed the graffiti with this view in mind.  In my experience urban love can feel exciting and so full of promise, but often doesn’t get the chance to prevail as there’s too much hustle from the rush of inner city life.

2. Open Grave

3106grunge-sepia-1-largeMy next image expresses how I feel when I wake up each morning. I usually have a massive headache and it takes me all morning to work out who I am and what’s going on in my life.

It’s almost like I’ve died decades ago and now I remain here without any connection to the world.

I’m quite pleased with the end result of this photograph.  I should be, as it did take me some time and effort to acheive the final image . I also think I look better dead than I do alive.

3. Piano Lessons

I used to play the piano when I was younger. I did so for some time, but as I grew older my music taste changed considerably and I didn’t want to play classical music anymore. I wanted to play rock music on an electric guitar, then I decided I wanted to mix house music and records instead. So in the end my piano got sold and lessons stopped.  I kind of regret that now because I miss playing the piano.

My friend has recently got a piano and he let me have a go on it. I sound really out of practice and I lack confidence, but if I kept at it I know I’d be able to get to the level were I left off many years ago.  If I could do this it would help my mind to relax and ease my anxiety levels.

img_4372-med

I wish I could find the music I used to play when I was doing my Grades because there are certain pieces that were part of my cognitive learning process to playing the piano. I used to know them really well, but I can’t remember them now.

4. Broken Face

I took this photograph when I was urban exploring. There was a heap of rubbish tipped in the entrance of the dereliction site. There was a piece of a shattered mirror on top of the pile. I took a shot of my reflection in the shattered glass. I chose this image because I like the abstract oddity it has to it. I love it when something creative comes from rubbish.

img_4552-brokenfacebw1-sftlgt

5. My Voice

My next image I took at my book launch event. It’s a picture of my published book which is a collection of short stories all by women writers. All proceeds goes to NIDAS a domestic abuse charity in the UK.  For more info please visit Global Wordsmiths website.

I write to express myself and to find my voice.

img_6716-book-grainbwcrop2

To see all the other entries in this months photo themed challenge please visit our host PJ at A’Lil Hoo Haa.

6 thoughts on “Express Yourself

  1. I’d like to copy and past Tamara’s comment here. You really went above and beyond this month, creating images using techniques and processes that I can only begin to guess at!

    I am so sorry to learn that you wake up with terrible headaches almost every day. Just in case you don’t know about this as a possible cause, I wanted to mention that you should ask your dentist about this the next time you go in. I used to wake up with a really bad headache many days each week and it turned out to be from clenching my jaws at night. My dentist fitted me for a mouth guard that I wear every night. It’s terribly unattractive, so I wait to put it in once the lights are out, but no more headaches!

    Wishing you a better February. And hoping you raise lots of funds for NIDAS.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou for your comment Geoks. My dentist made me a gum shield too as I was biting my inside my mouth during my sleep probably grinding my teeth due to anxiety. I kept on waking up with massive blood blisters along side my jaw line inside my mouth. I’ve never worn it though, you are right it doesn’t look good and I don’t bite every night. I think I might save my mouth guard in case I get into a boxing match. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave A Reply

