A Different Lens

This months photo blogging challenge theme is to shoot 5 images through a different lens or camera.

I recently bought a new lens and was pleased with the theme this time as this was a good opportunity to try out my new Sigma 10-22mm f/3.5 lens on Canon 7D.

I bought this lens because I photograph a lot of buildings and interiors and I needed the ultra wide focal length 10-22mm to allow for the latitude in my images of buildings and to give freedom in the composition of internal structures and dereliction sites. Here are this month’s five using my Sigma 10-22mm lens.

  1. The ruins of a pair of chapels built in 1876 constructed with rock-faced stone and designed in a Gothic Revival style with granite columns, lancet windows, hood moulds and stone gargoyles. The chapels are located in the Old Basford Cemetery, Perry Road in Nottingham.

IMG_7606-iphoto-shad90-satSR2-3

2. The chapels have not been used as a place for worship for some time. Their last use being for storage. The chapel on the far left and the gateway suffered fire damage in January 1995 which meant that one side chapel was burnt out and the unsafe roof had to be removed. Below is a shot I took from inside the fire ruined chapel whilst standing on a stone window ledge, it is all that remains of the chapel’s once steeply pitched patterned slate roof.

IMG_7558-shadow100-exp35pse-SR2-3

3.

4. IMG_7553_iphoto-shad100-sat52srcrop

Inside the ruined chapel, two small rooms stripped back to bare walls, shafts of light fading bricks, protruding weeds, splintered wood through broken floors, forgotten masses and dismembered doors.

IMG_7592_GrnDoor-ipho-sat61-sahd45-smll

 

5. My last image I took at a demolition site. I wanted an abandoned bare tree shot against a vast landscape with a dramtic sky.  I waited until I’d got my new ultra wide lens to achieve the expansive area I needed within my composition.  However, when I arrived at at the location I discovered that things had changed since I last visited.

IMG_7871-LR-Colour4

The small tree that once stood here straight up before me has now uprooted and died.  So I took the shot even though it now looks like a giant twig stranded on the ground. At least I got my dramatic sky.  I’m guessing the roots were damaged during the demolition of the Hendric building.

A bonus photo because I couldn’t decide between the last two. Taken at the same location as above. After the demolition the over turned soil reminds of the sand dunes in Mablethorpe at UK’s east coast holiday resort.  I couldn’t resist the red poppies against the baron land and blue skies.

IMG_7864-iphoto-shad93-sat5sr1-7

Thats mine done.  I’m loving my new lens I’m glad I chose it.

Don’t forget to check out all the other photos for this month’s theme at hoohaa.com

2016_newbottom

4 thoughts on “A Different Lens

  1. Large buildings (especially towers) are so hard to photograph!

    Love the last two, especially the one with the very bright contrast between green grass and blue / cotton cloudy sky, wonderful!

    Have a lovely weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A lens to definitely put on the “wish list’! I think I’d spend the entire day at the chapel ruins, camera in hand. Love the perspectives on your shots. And, the last two are lovely….I really like the pop of red color in the last one.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The contrast between the poppies and the dirt is really beautiful. Love the sky as well in the other. I like wide angle lenses. I need to use them more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave A Reply

